top of page

Wednesday What's Up Is Cancelled.... Happy National Running Day!

Happy Wednesday, y'all!

It is National Running Day!! Celebrate it and go out for a run!!!

I hope you are having an awesome week so far! Yesterday started early (early for me, ha!) with a track workout with a client. He absolutely blew it out of the water! I am starting to think that we may have to adjust his goal here in a few weeks ;) He is hitting times EXACTLY the way I'm asking. It is awesome!

After the workout, I went home really quick to pick Major up to go for a run. He was pretty excited to go! He loves to go for runs!

We were meeting Paula and her pup Nala to run 4 miles. Major was not very well behaved during the run. He is not a fan of being on a leash, he pulls. He does awesome when I drop the leash and he can run with me, but with all the people and pups on the trail, sometimes I can't do that. Nala did awesome! #jealous

We tried to take a picture with all four of us, it somewhat worked. Ha!

Nala's selfie! I about died laughing when Paula sent me this!

We decided to just run 3 miles, it was so hot, and walk the last mile. I'd like to say we needed to walk for the dogs' sake, but really they were fine. It was us that needed to walk. Ha!!

I made it home in time for some pool time with Lynny! It's still the best $25 I've ever spent!

After that we fixed lunch and took a nap. I love summer days and summer naps!

We woke up and played some and I had another track workout with a different client. She killed her workout, too! I tell ya, I have some awesome clients that are absolutely awesome and knocking out their goals!

I came home and we fixed dinner and got our kayak ready for our little trip tomorrow. Lynny is so excited to go to the "beach"! It's technically a local lake, but it feels like the beach ;)

She's sailing to Pirate Island, she says...

I really like to do Wednesday What's Ups... but I just couldn't ignore something that's been bothering me for a little bit. So today will be a semi-rant about people who can't seem to support you. I like to keep my blog upbeat, positive, funny, etc., but I also want to keep it honest. I really think that I have some readers who need to hear what I'm about to say... or type... ?

I have heard a few times in the past week about people not having support from their families or friends concerning their running. I've heard some people say that they would love to attempt to run a 5K, but their families would tell them that it would be ridiculous, they couldn't ever run one, that it is a waste of time, and so on... I can't completely relate to this, as I have one of the most supportive families a girl could ask for. I can, however, relate to having people close to me (former close friends) who genuinely mean a lot to me, simply not trying to understand why running means so much to me.

I think it is important to show interest in the things your loved ones are interested in. Did I expect my friends to run the 5Ks I was running? No. Would seeing them at the finish line of a single race have made my day? Absolutely. I have literally been told that I was too caught up in my running, worrying about getting my runs in, how far I had gone, how fast I had run, etc.. I feel like a TRUE friend (or supportive family member) would at least attempt to not make you feel bad about what you're doing... especially if you are enjoying it immensely.

I'm not suggesting removing these people from your life completely, however, I am suggesting either speaking to them about why running (or anything for that matter) means so much to you and how it would mean the world to you if they could, at the very least, support you in some small way. Even if that support means not commenting about how they think it is ridiculous every time you head out for your run. Running is hard enough on its own, and doing it without any support can feel near impossible. You don't need rude comments from people you care about bringing you down.

This whole discussion can also be applied to other areas of you life. You don't need toxic relationships. You need relationships where you feel loved and supported despite your interests, even if they are extreme. I have removed myself from situations and relationships a few times due to the fact that I was too concerned with how the other person would feel if I did this or that. I would act like I didn't have a run planned some days just so that I didn't have to hear someone say, "Oh, ANOTHER run?"... Even though I had a 6 mile route planned out on my app that I knew I'd be running 2 hours later. I have stood in a store to purchase something and thought to myself, "How would *insert person* feel about this purchase?". WHAT IN THE WORLD WAS WRONG WITH ME?? If what I'm doing, be it running a marathon, posting pictures on Facebook, buying a clock, or dancing down my street dressed as Bat Man, makes me happy, why the heck should I have to worry about a LOVED ONE'S reaction to it? I have plenty of close friends and family now that would be right beside me walking down my street while I'm dressed as Bat Man.... I'm looking at you, Paula- in all your Wonder Woman glory! HA!!!

My loved ones know I'm absolutely insane. They know I have big ideas, that generally flop, but they support me regardless. This running coach business? It's a complete game of chance... But you can bet your bottom dollar that I have a whole crew of awesome family and friends behind me telling me that this is what I need to be doing because it is my passion. These people have not only been telling me that I'm doing the right thing, they've personally invested their time and money into it. That's the support people need. I'll be listening to those voices, not those of my critics. At the end of the day, my critics aren't the ones I want to be proud of me... I want those who truly care about me to be proud of me... And from what I'm gathering, I seem to be right on track.

Sorry for the rant, I just wanted to let my readers know that you DESERVE to have support. If you can't seem to find it from those closest to you, hit me up. I don't have to be your running coach to explain how ridiculously awesome you are.

Do you kayak?

Do you run with your dog?

Do you have support at home?


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page