top of page

Thursday Things

Work. Again. WHAT IS THIS NONSENSE?!?

Yesterday started with work, as I told you at the beginning of yesterday's post. After I got out (about 1), I went home and hung out with Aaron for a few. He then took me to Taco Bell for lunch (his breakfast) and we went and got Lynny. He took her to gymnastics for me yesterday- I don't know how he did it. He worked from 7PM Tuesday night to 7AM Wednesday morning, slept from about 7:30-9, and had Lynny to gymnastics at 9:45. He took her to the sitter after her class and went back home to try to get some more sleep. He runs on SUCH little sleep, y'all. I know I'm a little biased, but police officers make so many sacrifices... Sleep is one of them. Trust me.

After we picked Lynny up, we headed to the house. Lynny's sitter told us that Lynny didn't take a nap. I didn't get a nap, either, so I decided a little quiet time was a good idea. Aaron needed to mow so Lynny and I cuddled on the couch and watched Moana. We didn't make it through the movie. 2 hours later Aaron woke me up. Whoops! I do love her cuddles!

We started dinner (hot dogs- I usually despise hot dogs, but they were really good last night!) and Lynny did some "homework". She loves this workbook!

Paula and Billy dropped off their youngest son with Aaron and picked me up. We were suppose to run 6 miles. I made it about 5.2 miles. I felt sick the entire run. I think I ate too close to running and I felt like the hot dogs would make a reappearance if I didn't stop. I also have felt weird since the Metallica concert (See, it's dangerous for me to go see them!!!). I think I got dehydrated there and I haven't fully recovered from that. My body is use to having SO MUCH water throughout the day, that I think I threw it for a loop by only having 16 ounces in a 7 hour span. I'm taking today off to try to just rest and drink some good H2O all day. Hopefully I'll be good to go tomorrow!

I stopped where Aaron was picking us up and Paula and Billy finished the last .8 miles. Our pace was 11:18. It was suppose to be over 12:00, but that's really hard for us to do. That 11:18 included some walking. We aim to keep a conversational pace.

Once Aaron picked us up, we all headed out for ice cream. I usually get the Butter Pecan but the Orange Dreamsicle sounded AMAZING. I think because it's more like water, not ice cream, and I was really wanting water! Aaron brought us each our own bottle of cold water after our run, I DOWNED it. I really think that's what my body needs! I've had my Hydroflask by my side all day!

After ice cream, we went home and headed to bed! It was a pretty busy day!

I wanted to share some of my plans for my next half marathon. It is on Sunday, September 24th. It is the Bluegrass Half Marathon and it is definitely one of my favorites! The last time I ran it, I did very little training, I still tied with my PR from when I was training really hard for my first half marathon. The time was somewhere around 2:07. It was such a fun course! I cannot wait to run it again!

I'll share my first two weeks, basically my schedule as far as what type of runs I fit into my week on specific days. Paces are specific to me, as are track workouts, so sharing them is kind of pointless ;) I had to take a picture of it, it wouldn't copy right to the website... #technology. The highlighted portion is my first two weeks of the plan.

Bolded runs are set to be at an easy pace- conversational pace. I should not be struggling with these runs. They should feel very easy, almost too easy. The italicized runs are tempo runs, where I run the specific mileage at what I want to run my half at. So for my first half this year, I wanted my tempo runs to be as close to 9:00 miles as possible. This race will not be that fast ;) The underlined runs are set to be at my long run pace, usually faster than easy runs and slower than tempo runs. The track workouts are at a much faster pace, but broken up. I usually keep one rest day as a strict rest day, but the other I can do some other form of exercise. Walk, bike, swim, whatever.

This plan will keep me on track and hopefully help me hit my goal for the Bluegrass Half! If you have any questions, or want to get a plan specified to you, just email me!!! I'd be happy to help!

I hope you all have a great rest of the week. The weekend is almost here!!

Do you drink enough water?

When is your next race?

Have you built your own running plan? Contacted a coach?


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page