top of page

Tuesday Time Clock and Wednesday Wackiness and Thursday Things

Time Clock... I had to punch one of those Tuesday. Not the kind of punch I would have liked to have given to the time clock........ I took a refresher course on CPR with Paula. At least I was with a friend!

Monday started out with Lynny waking up about 9. I love that she sleeps in, until it's time to go to bed and she doesn't get sleepy until after 11. I'm going to have to start getting her back to a bedtime routine soon, otherwise August is going to be reallllly hard on both of us!

When we got going, I gave her the option to either go to the playground or the library. She chose the library! I was pretty surprised, she usually chooses the playground first and THEN wants to go to the library after she is finished playing. She was engrossed in this book, and many others. She's a teacher's kid, for sure!

We came home to wake Aaron up, he gets up early on his days off. Lynny and I were hungry, Aaron was not. She requested cheese toast, banana, apple sauce, cottage cheese, and chips and dip. She got what she asked for. I told her she needed another color on her plate and she chose strawberries. She loves strawberries! I'm more of a blueberry girl ;)

Lynny was not tired, at all, and I was worried it would be another no-nap day... We decided to take her to the playground to wear her out some ;) Aaron stopped and got coffee and I opted for a sour cream donut. I LOVE those things! I don't get them often, so they are a real treat when I decide to buy one... or have Aaron buy me one!

We played at the playground for about an hour and then took her home. She napped for about 1.5 hours. I tried to nap but ended up just watching some shows on Netflix. #napfail

When she woke up, we headed outside to play. Aaron did the dishes and fixed dinner. Spaghetti. It tastes so much better when he fixes it, and I don't know why?! ;)

We went BACK outside to play. Aaron jumped on the trampoline with Lynny while I took the dogs for a little walk. They LOVE walks, as most dogs do! Clyde, my obese pup, can only take so much, especially in the heat. We walked a little over a half of a mile. He was plenty done when we got back to the house ;)

We hung out until it was bath time, then Aaron and Lynny played MineCraft. She loves to watch him play. Then it was off to bed! 

Tuesday I took the CPR class, so I was up early. Well, early for summer ;) After it was over, I helped Paula clean up the classroom and we went for a 3 miler. It was around noon, and it was HOT. I was pretty proud of our pace considering the heat. My mom kept reminding us to drink water (I send her the LiveTrack link and she (and my dad) sends us text messages reminding us to drink or saying we are doing a good job or even to tell us to speed up ;) It's very entertaining). We sent her this picture to prove we did drink water! 

We attempted a timed picture... 

I was a sweaty mess after this run. 

I made it home in time to eat lunch and put Lynny down for her nap. I love rocking her! 

When she woke up, Aaron and I took her to the park. Chug it, girl! 

We came home and made a cake! She loves to bake! 

After her bath she realized that she hadn't completed any homework. We fixed that issue. 

Then it was off to bed! 

Wednesday morning we woke up early enough to grab some breakfast before gymnastics. 

She still loves it. 

I always fuss about Lynny taking her shoes off every single time she sits down. As I was watching her in gymnastics, I looked down and discovered where she gets it from. Guilty. 

We came home to eat lunch. Watermelon. I love it. 

I asked Aaron if he could do just one thing for me this weekend. Cover the cords from our TV we have hanging in the living room. He said it wouldn't take long and did it right then. I painted it and he hung it! It looks so much better!! 

I also hung my cheese grater that Aaron made fun of me from grabbing (for free!!) from another teacher. I am happy with it!! 

We played outside some more. We are always outside. Major likes to check on "sissy". He's a good dog. 

Her cousins came over to play a bit and then she and I hit the hay! She did a flip for the first time on the trampoline... not a roll, a flip. I was nervous the entire time, but she did really well. Aaron was proud when I sent him the video ;)  It was a busy day! 

On social media, I see a lot of my runner friends talking about how hot it is and how horrible it is for running. I am a summer lover for all things EXCEPT running. I love fall/winter running. It's much harder to get started when it's cold, but it's so much easier to stay going!! Here are some tips to beat the heat on your run!! 

1. Water

Drink water allllll the time. The day before a long run, drink TONS... Drink more water during your run, carry it with you if you're able! I use my FlipBelt water bottle for short runs (under 4 or 5 miles), and I take my Camelback on my long runs. Lately I've been feeling super nauseous if I don't drink a lot of water and I run in the heat. I've made sure to drink lots the past few runs and they've been more enjoyable. Not really enjoyable. Tolerable is a better word. Drink after you run, too!! 

2. Run in a shaded area

Our local trail has a lot of shade. We don't like sticking to just the the trail all of the time, I like to get some road running in, as well, but when it's hot, the trail is the best. 

3. Wear the right clothing. 

I don't listen to this like I should. Most of my running gear is black, which is super hot, in case you didn't know... Try to wear breathable materials that keep you cool! 

4. Run early in the morning or later in the evenings. 

I try to do this. It's so much cooler. I don't feel like I have a blanket over my mouth. It's awesome. Working it into my schedule, however, isn't always doable. 

5. Switch your workouts. 

If you have a plan, see about switching your workouts around. If you know you have a 7 miler coming up and can't run it on a certain day except for around noon, switch it for a rest day or a shorter run you have scheduled. I'd rather run 3 in the heat than 7 any day. 

6. Treadmill. 

If you get super desperate, hit the treadmill. I don't like the treadmill, but I do like my built in fan and water/gu available instantaneously. I have a love/hate relationship with that beast. 

7. Skip it. 

If all else fails, ditch the run. I don't like doing this, and I feel awful about it, but running in extreme heat is dangerous. If it's too hot, don't risk it. Be smart and be safe!! 

I hope these tips help you some! Have a great start to your weekend!! 

What do you do to beat the heat? 

How do you carry water during a run? 

What are your favorite items of clothing for summer running? 


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page