top of page

Food Friday

Hey, people!

There are a few more people reading this blog than I originally thought! Welcome to my corner of the web where I rattle off what is in my brain in hopefully coherent sentences!

I decided to change the way I name my posts on the blog. I was naming them something dealing with the previous day, but that got confusing. I talk about what I did yesterday on the blogs, so I thought that made sense, but I think I like naming them for the day I'm posting them. Maybe I'll change it back. Who knows?

I feel like that's how I look with contour right now.... I'm trying...

ANYWHO. I decided that I may try to feature a recipe or some type of food, not necessarily always healthy, but hopefully something that you can use to fuel running, workouts, bored Saturday nights, you know... All around foods ;)

Most of the recipes I use can be found on Pinterest. I have a few different boards because I always start new ones... Let's be honest, I forget I already have a similar board or I'm too lazy to look and see what it is called...

My favorite dinner recipe is one I am sharing today. The prep isn't terrible, if you don't mind cutting veggies. If you do, you may wanna skip... or spend the extra money and buy the veggies already cut!

Oven Chicken Fajitas! I got this recipe from Budget Bytes. It is so, SO good! I follow it almost exactly!

Easy Oven Fajitas

These Easy Oven Fajitas are a simple "set it and forget it" way to get that smoky sweet flavor of traditional griddle fajitas.

Total Cost: $8.67 recipe / $2.17 serving (ish)

Author: Beth - Budget Bytes

Prep Time: 15 mins

Cook Time: 40 mins

Total Time: 55 mins

Servings:

Ingredients

FAJITA SEASONING
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder ($0.30)

  • 1/2 Tbsp paprika ($0.15)

  • 1/2 tsp onion powder ($0.05)

  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder ($0.03)

  • 1/4 tsp cumin ($0.03)

  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper ($0.02)

  • 1 tsp sugar ($0.02)

  • 1/2 tsp salt ($0.02)

FAJITAS
  • 2 small or 1 large onion ($0.37)

  • 3 bell peppers, any color ($3.98)

  • 1 lb. chicken breast* ($1.99)

  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil ($0.08)

  • 1 medium lime ($0.33)

  • 8 6-inch tortillas ($0.57)

  • 1/2 cup sour cream (optional) ($0.50)

  • 1/4 bunch cilantro (optional) ($0.23)

Instructions

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Mix all of the spices for the fajita seasoning in a small bowl and set aside (chili powder, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, sugar, and salt).

  • Cut the onion and bell peppers into 1/4-inch wide strips. Place them in a large 13x15-inch casserole dish or a large baking sheet. Slice the chicken breast into very thin strips and add it to the casserole dish with the vegetables.

  • Drizzle the vegetable oil over the chicken and vegetables, then sprinkle the fajita seasoning mix over top. Use your hands to toss the ingredients until everything is well coated in oil and seasoning. Bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes, stirring once half way through. Squeeze the juice from half of the lime over top of the meat and vegetables after they come out of the oven.

  • While the fajita mix bakes, toast each tortilla in a dry skillet over medium-low heat, until lightly browned on each side. Scoop a small amount of meat and vegetables into the center of each tortilla. Top with a few sprigs of cilantro, a dollop of sour cream, and an extra squeeze of lime if desired.

That's her exact recipe, and her photo! Mine come out tasting as great, but they probably aren't that pretty! ha!

I do leave out the cayenne pepper. I am not a fan. We also do not serve it with lime... but everything else, we do! The cayenne pepper is just too spicy for me, I'm a baby when it comes to heat in food...

I eat these with tortillas, or you can top a bed of lettuce and have a fajita salad!

So. Good.

I top mine with sour cream and some cheese. Aaron hates sour cream so he passes on that... Lynny hates anything that isn't grilled cheese, mac and cheese, or a happy meal, so she passes on the whole meal. Reid would eat it if we offered it, I'm certain! She will be our eater!

Yesterday was a rest day. I may or may not try to run a mile or two today. I'm leaning towards no, only because I won't have another rest day until Tuesday and I am still not ready to be running all the time like I was before Reid. I'm trying to stay smart about my goals ;)

Lynnleigh had gymnastics so taking the day off was easiest. She convinced my mother to bring us Chic-fil-A home after... the Lord's chicken!

I LOVE their superfood side. I get it instead of fries and it makes me feel better about my life choices...

Then we settled in for the night! I am SO glad that today is Friday. I am pooped after my first (4 day) week back at work! I'm praying for more snow next week ;)

I hope you all have a wonderful start to your weekend!

Do you like fajitas?

Do you have any recipes to share?? Better yet, make it for me and let me try it ;)


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page